Mental health 08/12/2012 at 15:37

The Equality Act Of 2010

Equality and diversityIn order to simplify and clarify anti-discrimination practices in the UK, in 2010 by an act of parliament a new law was enacted that encompassed and replaced previous anti-discrimination laws with a single act. The new law was calledĀ the Equality Act of 2010.

This new law took into account the premises of the Equal Pay Act of 1970, the Race Relations Act of 1976 and the Disability Discrimination Act of 1995 along with three major statutes that protected against discrimination in employment on the grounds of sexual orientation, age, or religious beliefs. The new legislation combined them all into one all-encompassing act, the Equality Act of 2010.

There areĀ nine characteristics that are protected under the law. These are differences which under the law cannot be used to treat people in an unfair manner. These characteristics will essentially fit everyone at one time or another so basically everyone is protected under the Equality Act of 2010.
The characteristics are specifically included within the law are

  • age, young or old
  • disability
  • gender of an individual
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage or civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion or beliefs
  • sexual orientation

The act protects against unfair treatment in the workplace, when providing services or goods to the public, in education and more. Equality in medical care, including mental health settings are included.
It also sets out a directive against unlawful treatment, such as indirect or direct discrimination, harassment, victimization or failing to make reasonable accommodations for all people, regardless of disability or hardship.
The Equality Act of 2010 extends until the year 2030, with an existing exemption until 2015 that allows political parties to select either all male candidates or all female candidates for elective short-lists.